A Spiritual Eye

Helix nebula

When I was a kid, I had a big problem, at least I thought it was.  You see, I thought that I lacked some innate ability to read people, that I could not adequately assess a person’s hidden motives like everyone else could.  People seemed to know who to trust, who to prefer, and who to punish  just on their initial observation or momentary interaction. I found this uncanny as I was always stumped.  It was not that I wasn’t told the things that the other neighborhood kids were told, or that I didn’t believe what I was told. It was just that I could not treat someone differently based on what I was told, especially once I met them.  Once I looked into their eyes, something there would immediately erase all the gossip, the warnings and the teachings told to me about their presumed disposition.  It was as if something familiar looked back at me, something that I connected with that would not allow me to treat them differently, regardless of what the neighborhood kids were saying.  Needless to say, this caused me a great deal of stress as I was expected to treat them with disdain as everyone else did. Eventually I would just avoid the situation all together and feign my disgust, ensuring that I wouldn’t be the next to be ostracized.  I felt a great deal of guilt for doing so, but the fear was too great for me to do otherwise.

As time went on my handicap continued.  Even if I knew that a person couldn’t be trusted, or perhaps didn’t like me too well, I still saw that familiar glint in their eyes, that “something”, that precluded me from launching a preemptive attack.  Of course, I wouldn’t put myself in harm’s way, but I also wouldn’t treat them with the common disdain that most people did.  What was it that I saw? What held me back from what most people deemed as quite normal behavior?  Only now am I beginning to realize what it is, and that perhaps I’m not handicapped after all.

In my lifetime, and due to my profession, I have met a great number of people from all walks of life;  different colors, multiple nationalities, all shapes, sizes, and ideologies, all at one time or another.  I have listened to preconceptions about them all, to their preconceptions, and to the media’s preconceptions.  I have gone into them with this information imbedded in my thoughts, only to be eclipsed by that familiar “glint” present in them all.  This “glint” I believe is so familiar to me because it is a glimpse of my true self.  I see me in everyone I meet.  I see the hopes, dreams, and ideals, but mostly I see life.  A living, breathing, intelligence that permeates all beings and is all beings, staring back at me from everyone I encounter. No matter what form it takes it is still the same everywhere I look, and being me, I simply cannot harm it.  I don’t know if I knew this as a child, but I felt it, and for some reason the eyes were my window.

Oscar, eyes aglow

In light of the recent events in the news, I wonder what would happen if people everywhere had this same sight or view?  Would many of the horrors witnessed now in our world be avoided?  If each of us could see themselves in the other, ( I mean, really see themselves), would they be so quick to harm or judge?  I tell you they would not.  I know, it sounds like hopeless guru rhetoric, but believe me, I see it and I’m no guru.  I look into the eyes of my dog and laugh because the “glint” stares back at me! (Different area of awareness, but the “glint” all the same).  We are, in fact, everywhere.

Again, as I have said, the media is a powerful tool.  There are others who see as I do–many of them.  Unfortunately their stories are never told.  They are not news worthy, as it were.  No one wants to hear about the Israeli-Palestinian peace marches; instead the conflict is foremost in our thoughts, dominating our collective consciousness. One tragic incident can be magnified, towering over the millions of other positive interactions, giving us the impression that the world, (our overall collective consciousness) is this way, when it is not.  Differences, (which on a universal scale are profoundly subtle) are magnified in our collective psyche and lauded as significant and ripe for disdain and division , when in actuality variation of form should be held in awe, and celebrated, but no one alludes to this.  Makes you wonder who’s in charge here.  Who benefits from the division and conflict?  Certainly not us.

Eye galaxy

I went for years thinking that I lacked something, that I should be able to see everybody as ‘other’.  Now as the years have passed I think maybe society lacks something, and has painstakingly taught us to forget it.  Given our technological evolution, we have to remember.  Our spiritual evolution has got to catch up.  Our survival depends on it.

I dont know why I see this so blatently, but I do know that it causes me pain.  Looking into the eyes  of another I can also see when they do not see me.  It’s as if a veil is pulled low, hiding me from view.

“There’s only one of us here…..”

Namaste

Leave a Reply

